Career Path

From Jan

Just list all the jobs you’ve had in your life, in order. Don’t bust
your brain: no durations or details are necessary, and feel free to
omit anything that you feel might tend to incriminate you. I’m just
curious. And when you’re done, tag another five bloggers you’re curious
about.

General Helper at a Sign Company when they used to actually paint the signs by hand.  I would tear paper and cut it into various shapes using a jigsaw.  I also typed invoices on a typewriter! What a pain.  Nicest bosses in the world.  They would always let me off during the summer to go on vacation and church camp.  A father and son owned the place and had different taste in music.  In the mornings we listed to country and in the afteroons hard rock.  Quite an education!

Mother’s Day Out Teacher – Lots of blowing bubbles and whatever else was necessary to entertain small children.  Best part of the day was naptime.

Big Ed’s Hamburgers – I did everything at this place from taking the order to cooking to busing tables.  The best part was all the pop you could drink and free lunch every day!  I had to ride my bike 10 miles everyday to work off that double cheeseburger and onion rings I ate everyday.

Daycare Teacher – I did this several summers and on breaks from college.  They always hired me part time to work from 3-6 and I always ended up working everyday at least 8 hours.  Best part of the day was, yep, naptime.  Someone would go to Tim’s Drive In and get us cokes with the good ice and fried onion burgers.

Dishwasher – I worked in the cafeteria at the University of Central Oklahoma.  I did it all in the dishroom…from dumping trays to loading and unloading the big dishwasher.  I worked with a friend and we had more fun in that dish room!  I learned how to really mop a floor with a big ol’ mopbucket. 

Dorm Desk – Best college job ever.  I knew everyone and everyone’s business. This was in the old days when you actually had to check boys into the dorm in order for them to go up to your room.  I loved working the 9p.m. – 12 a.m. shift.  Then it was upstairs to find all my friends and to order pizza and play Yahtzee or  Spades.

Elementary School Teacher – I taught school for 10 years.  I’ve taught 1st – 4th grades.  I had a great time teaching school and wouldn’t trade those years for anything. 

Attorney – I went to law school at night while teaching school. Looking back, I’m not sure how I managed it all.  I’ve always practiced part-time and been a full-time mom.  Perfect!

Wow!  I didn’t know I could give that much information.  If you are reading this, consider yourself tagged!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

